I have these 2 amazing friends at University. Lets call them Sandra and Ashley. Love them to bits.

They had to submit an assignment today by 3:30pm. This was a group assignment and they both were working together on this assignment. They were all done and 10 mins before the assignment was due Ashley wanted to print the title page in color. Inspite of Sandra telling her that they will be late in class and the professor will get upset or may deduct marks Ashley still went ahead with colorr printing their title page. They did get late and submitted their assignment 10 mins late (as they were 10 mins late to class). As a penalty the professor deducted 25% of their assignment marks – meaning the assignment was for 20% of the final marks and they will now be marked out of 15% instead of 20%.

Sandra was so upset that she stopped talking to Ashley saying that its all because of Ashley that they lost 25% of marks. Ashley was not only upset that they lost the marks but also because Sandra was upset with her.

So now they both tell me what happened. I spoke to Sandra privately and told her what is done is done now and she cant loose a friend over this issue. Sandra was so upset stating how Ashley is irresponsible and not serious about her studies and keeps on texting her boyfriend and she did not even care about Sandra. Sandra said she fears that she will fail the course. I explained to her that 25% of 20% means only 5% of the final marks and that being a smart student there is no way that she will fail.. Sandra was extremely pissed off.

On the other hand Ashley knew it was her fault but she was now starting to get pissed off at Sandra stating that she did what she did unintentionally and if Sandra lost marks so did she. I told her to just relax and intentionally or not it was due to her that they lost the marks so just listen to what Sandra is saying.

I also adviced them both to write an email to professor apologizing for late submission and told them it should be strictly apologizing email and they shouldnt try and ask to get their marks back.

Sandra did what i told her.. emailed professor strictly acknowledging their mistake and apologizing. On the other hand Ashley apologized but included a line requesting prof to reconsider penalty lol… my dear Ashley … I guess Professor got pissed off at this. I am sure Sandra is still not aware of what Ashley wrote to prof. Finally Sandra and Ashley are talking again and hopefully things will be normal between them.

I seriously hate to see them both fight as they both are very dear to me. I adviced them not to take 100% courses together to maintain their friendship. I guess taking all classes with your friends makes you too much in their face and vice versa… I dont have a single class with them both thus I have no issues of group work or grades..

I just hope they dont keep any grudges in them….

Thanks for reading and do share your thoughts 😀